True Religion

The Dalai Lama says,

This is my simple religion. There is no need for temples; no need for complicated philosophy. Our own brain, our own heart is our temple; the philosophy is kindness.

I enjoy temples, churches and complicated theology. I’m an artist, a traveler and an intellectual, I can’t help but gravitate to these things!

But as I’ve written before, I left organized religion because for me, being truly religious means being out in the world,Xavi huge bridge cars sun being happy and doing good. I’m easily distracted by spiritual materialism, where the finger pointing to the moon is the object of my attention rather than the moon itself.

That moon is in all of us, and we are all in this world together, floating through time and space, living under the sun’s rays. Okay there’s not much literary value in my prose but you get my drift. Kindness is the only religion, the only truth. As Jesus said,

And this is my commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you.

May everyone know and be the kindness of love.

Leave a Reply

